Rant in ‘ER’ Major

Let me tell you all about a very disturbing trend I’ve noticed over the past year or two…stereotyping in hospital emergency rooms!

I’m a very small person, just about 5’3″ and I only weigh 82 pounds. Yes, I look anorexic, but I’m not. I have an enzyme, or some such thing, missing from my body that makes it so my body doesn’t absorb the fat from food. Although I guess it doesn’t stop me from making a lot of cholesterol…go figure. I’ve been this way all my life and I don’t think it will ever change. I’m just very thin, period. I also live in a city that is noted for it’s drug problems. My bad, I can’t afford to live in the good parts of town, sorry. I’m not whining, I like my apartment, it’s nice and affordable for me. The third thing is I have free care..oh my, 3 strikes and y’er outta here.

Oops, one more strike, I’m unemployed, and collecting unemployment. Wow what a loser huh?

First of all, though little and thin, I am not a drug addict. I have never done any drug, other than marijuana in my life. The former only on occasion I might add. It was not a ‘gateway drug’ for me. None of my other friends do hard drugs either. There was one, but she is no longer my friend. Do you see where I’m going with this?

My youngest daughter lives in the same city as me, she is also little and thin, not quite as thin as me, but close. The BIG difference is…….WAIT FOR IT………she has good insurance. So guess what, she gets treated way better than I do. Believe me, I’m glad she gets treated well, I love my children, all five of them, who are also not drug addicts. They all have good jobs and are doing well actually, my point is why treat me differently?

That’s it.

As soon as I say I’m on freecare thier whole attitude changes. It’s happened on more than one occasion, and to other people I know too.

I don’t like being stereotyped just because I’ve fallen on hard times, oh yeah and because I’m thin, which makes me look like I ‘might’ do bad drugs. Not the case.

The very final thought I’d like to leave you with is this, just because someone looks good, drives a nice car and has a job and insurance does not mean they don’t do drugs. It just means they can afford to.

Thanks all for listening and have a pleasant day.

Oh yeah, and make sure you get some of the higher-than-heaven costing insurance or try not to get sick!

Leave a Reply

