Give Me That Old Time Rock and Roll and…

I just read a post on Yahoo Music Blogs that listed the top ten recently downloaded songs from the 70’s, 80’s and90’s. Don’t get me wrong it was a great list with some of my favorite songs on it, but what’s up with this younger generation; no heavy metal, c’mon you guys, get with the program. I have five, almost six, grandchildren, and I still love the old school heavy metal. Metallica still rocks. The old Metallica that is. One of the best albums ever made was theirS & M with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra. I’m also quite fond of (batting my eyes) AC/DC. Yup I love them. I could go on and on naming bands and stuff, but you get the idea by now.
I just find it really interesting that when I’m 90 or so that I’m still going to be listening to this stuff and probably injuring myself trying to bang my head to it.

What a very weird transition. My parents used to listen to stuff like Tony Bennett, Bing Crosby, the Big Bands, Perry Como. Wow what a journey it’s been. It makes me wonder what my grandchildren, (if of course some stupid president doesn’t blow up the world before then), will be listening to when they’re my age. Where can it possibly go from here? I’ve actually thought about this and the Bill and Ted theory comes to mind, but of course that’s just silly, still ya gotta wonder.

Anyway, I guess it’s just food for thought, any ideas floating around out there leave me a comment, I’d be interested to hear them.

Also if you want to hear some really great Metallica covers you’ve gotta check out Apocalyptica. They play some of the best of the best on cellos. It’s wild.

Have a great Saturday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

