My Awesome Soldier

 

spiders-in-my-soup

The following was written by me for a young man in the first Gulf War. We corresponded for about one year and it was heartwarming and wonderful. He thankfully came home in one piece and we lost touch awhile later. I miss you John and hope you’re doing well.

My Awesome Soldier

My Awesome Soldier
So Young, so brave, so optimistic

You faced death
Yet remained so full of life

I was here
Safe from danger
Yet so scared

Imagine that
I needed you 
To help me through

Every letter made my day
Too few came

I kept you sane?
You’ll never know what you did for me!

My days are brighter
My life is richer 
For knowing you

Leave a Reply

